So if you’re like me you are obsessed with Chinese food. The delivery guy knows me, and I even live in a big city. Once I realized I was no longer allergic to eggs, I’m pretty sure my brain decided it would spend the rest of my life making up for it. Seriously, I crave egg rolls and beef & broccoli like only pregnant women should. Since I now have an actual kitchen to cook things in, I’ve decided to take it easy on my wallet and cook my own delicious Chinese food. This particular recipe is my mother’s, but in the future I plan on making won tons, egg rolls, shao mai, etc. So keep an eye out for those. Anyway, on to the actual food…

This is quite easily the most delicious food I have ever had. It’s sweet, salty, savory, and the option of being vegetarian, if you’d like. I mean come on, check out all those veggies!! How could something healthy be so freaking delicious?!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tree?? of broccoli
  • 1 Napa Cabbage
  • 1/2 Onion
  • 1/2 clove Garlic
  • 1 Bell Pepper (I love bell peppers)
  • Chicken tenderloins or breast (or whatever meat you want, really. No meat is always great too!)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Granulated Sugar
  • Veggie Oil

Prepare the Chicken (or any other meat you want to use):

Dice the chicken, and then put the pieces in a plastic zip-lock bag with soy sauce, a pinch of sugar, salt, pepper and a little bit of olive oil. Close the bag and  move the pieces around to make sure each piece gets coated with the marinade, and then set it aside to let it marinate until it’s time to cook!

Prepare the Veggies:

I always begin by chopping everything I’ll need, and setting them aside in bowls. Especially with stir fry, it makes life much easier. So cut up the broccoli to the desired size, and dice the onion and garlic. Chop the Napa Cabbage, and remember it WILL cook down when you add it to the pan. I cut off and discard the base, and then continue cutting up the cabbage to make long strip-like pieces. Dice the pepper, and note that it’s much easier to get those seeds out of the middle under running water. Eat a piece of the pepper to “ensure quality.”

Let’s Get Cooking:

Start by cooking the chicken. Pour the chunks and a bit of the marinade into a pan and set it to medium heat. Cook the chicken, until done. Meaning cook it until all the pieces have turned white on all sides, and are firm if you push on the center. Try not to over-cook it, as dry chicken is not quite as delicious as juicy chicken. Try a piece to “make sure it’s not poisonous.”

Once done, pour the chicken out of the pan into a bowl and set aside. Don’t worry about cleaning the pan, everything will be cooked together in the end anyway. So, put in a little veggie oil, some soy sauce and a pinch of sugar. Then add the diced onion into the pan, with the heat somewhere between medium and high, but closer to medium. After a few minutes add the garlic. Cook the onion until soft and a little browned, and then add the chopped peppers, a little more soy sauce, and another pinch of sugar. Once the peppers seem to be soft, add the broccoli, a little more soy sauce, and another pinch of sugar (notice a pattern?). After the broccoli has softened, add the cabbage, and (you guessed it!) a little more soy sauce, and another pinch of sugar. Usually at this point my pan is about to over flow and it seems like there’s not going to be enough room for the chicken, let alone stirring the thing. Calm down, turn the heat to medium, cover the pan with a top and slowly back away. It will all be okay, I promise. Check back every 15 seconds or so, and finally you’ll notice the cabbage beginning to cook down. Try to fold it under the other things in the pan to keep it from burning, while doing this also allows the cabbage to cook down more quickly. Eventually, it will cook down enough for you to fold the mixture with a spoon and not spill from the pan. Or if you’re not a goofball like me, you’ve invested in a bigger pan. In which case, just wait for the cabbage to lose its crispness. Add the chicken, and that magic touch of soy sauce and sugar and stir. Smell. YUM! Keep folding for a few more minutes until the chicken is warm again and there you have it! Delicious stir fry! Try not to overdose.

